MBA Renames State and Local Leadership Award for Marianne Collins, Executive Director of the Ohio MBA

Rob Van Raaphorst
(202) 557-2799

WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 16, 2019) - Robert D. Broeksmit, CMB, President and CEO of the Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA), announced today that MBA has renamed its award for outstanding state and local association leadership the Marianne Collins Award for Outstanding State and Local Leadership. Collins will be retiring as Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of the Ohio Mortgage Bankers Association at the end of the year.

"Marianne has been a leader in our industry for more than three decades, and I can think of no better way to celebrate her contributions to the mortgage industry than by renaming our state and local leadership award in her name," said Broeksmit. "The tremendous work she has done at the Ohio MBA has set a standard of excellence for state and local associations that has carried over across the country."

After a 35-year career in the mortgage banking industry, Collins joined the Ohio MBA in 2012, where she became the leading voice for transitional licensing for state-licensed loan officers. In 2014, she incorporated the New York Mortgage Bankers Association (NYMBA), turned it over to the Board and members, and was contracted to be that organization's first Executive Director and COO. She is also past president of both the Columbus (OH) and Ohio Mortgage Bankers Associations.

"Marianne is trailblazer, both as a state and local leader and as a woman in real estate finance," said Marcia M. Davies, MBA's Chief Operating Officer and the founder of mPower, MBA's platform for women to strengthen their networks and achieve professional growth and development. "She is known for her leadership, dedication, and influence, which have garnered her the highest levels of respect across the industry."

Collins has also been a leader at the national level, serving on the MBA Board of Directors, Residential Board of Governors, Loan Production Committee, and State Legislative and Regulatory Committee, among many others. She also served as Chair of MORPAC, the mortgage banking industry's political action committee, during the 2003-2004 election cycle. For her advocacy efforts on behalf of the industry, MBA has recognized her with the Burton C. Wood Legislative Service Award, the Schumacher-Bolduc Award for her work on MBA's political advocacy programs, and as the first recipient of the award for outstanding state and local leadership that now bears her name.