Residential Certified Mortgage Servicer (RCMS) Designation

Newly redesigned to carry you through the process of onboarding through career advancement and setting yourself apart, the Residential Certified Mortgage Servicer (RCMS) Specialist Certificate and Designation program is a comprehensive program comprised of three levels. Each level comes as a separate package for purchase allowing you to take one or all three levels and pay as you go. Upon completion of all three levels, you will have earned your RCMS. 

Part of the new design is a completly online delivery with web-based courses and exams that can be accessed from anywhere, at any time with an internet connection.

Course Details

Level I


  • New to one year of industry experience is recommended

Enroll in the Level I Achievement Certificate

Register Now
Complete Required Level I Curriculum and Exam
Level I web-based courses:

  • Mortgage Banking Primer (loan life-cycle)
  • Payoff, Lien Release and Assumption
  • Basics of Mortgage Servicing
  • Residential Loan Servicing Laws
  • Special Loan Administration
  • Servicing Home Equity Products
  • Servicing Transfers

Level II


  • One to two years of industry experience is recommended
  • Completion of Residential Mortgage Servicer Level I Certificate

Enroll in the Level II Achievement Certificate

Register Now
Complete Required Level II Curriculum and Exam
Level II web-based courses:

  • Bank Reconciliation
  • Cash Management
  • Corporate Accounting
  • Escrow Essentials
  • Loss Mitigation

Level III


  • Two or more years of industry experience is recommended
  • Completion of Residential Mortgage Servicer Levels I and II Certificates

Enroll in the Level III Achievement Certificate

Register Now
Complete Required Level III Curriculum and Exam
Level III web-based courses:

  • Bankruptcy Essentials
  • Conventional Loan Recovery
  • Insurance Servicing
  • Investor Reporting
  • Managing Real Estate Owned

Recertification: Keeping Up Your RCMS

Maintain your designation by completing two points of continuing education every two years. Continuing education can be earned by successfully completing any self-study course not previously taken or by attending MBA conferences and/or conventions. Prior to the end of the two-year period, designees must complete the Recertification Form and pay a $100 recertification fee.

Download the Form Pay the Fee

Apply for the Path to Diversity Scholarship and Save

The Path to Diversity Scholarship Program recognizes existing industry professionals who are seeking to advance their careers through continuing education. This education opportunity enables employees from diverse backgrounds to advance their professional growth and career development. Receive up to $2,000 towards course registration fees. Learn more here.

Sign Up for Corporate Training

Ensure all of your employees are equipped with the skills and knowledge they require to help advance your business with MBA Education. Learn more about our corporate training options.