DEI Header Banner - image of seated professionals

About the Initiative and DEI Advisory Committee

Our Vision: A real estate finance industry that reflects opportunity and diversity, equity, and inclusion within the communities we serve.

Our Mission: MBA fosters a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion within the real estate finance industry. Together with our members, we exchange information on best practices, tackle issues sand potential barriers, and create networking opportunities that advance overall diversity, equity, and inclusion within the industry. 

Five Pillars of DEI

  1. Connect our diverse members to one another
  2. Facilitate diversity and inclusion learning
  3. Promote and market diversity and inclusion
  4. Attract, retain, and promote diverse talent at MBA 
  5. Create a culture of inclusion at MBA

DEI Advisory Committee

The member-led Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Committee, a Board-appointed body, provides leadership and guidance to MBA to help the real estate finance industry gain a competitive advantage by increasing diversity in leadership, workforce, and suppliers. 

Matthew G. Rocco, Sr.
Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Advisory Committee
Colliers Mortgage

Mark A. Jones
Vice Chair, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee
Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder
Amerifirst Home Mortgage

Wallace Bates
Vice President of Business Strategy & Development

Cerita Battles
Managing Director, Head of Community and Affordable Lending

Leslie Branson
Head of Human Resources
Berkeley Point Capital LLC

Melissa Donaldson
Senior VP & Chief Diversity Officer
Wintrust Mortgage

Amy Jarnagin 
DEI Officer and Business Development Manager
Amerifirst Home Mortgage

Maurice Jourdain-Earl
Managing Director

Danny P. Felton, Sr. 
3rd Vice President
National Association of Real Estate Brokers (NAREB)

Jennifer Hedgepeth
Executive Vice President/National Operations Manager
DHI Mortgage

Eduardo Perez, CMB
Equity Prime Mortgage LLC

Catherine Pharis
Managing Director, Multifamily Capital FHA
Wells Fargo Bank, N.A.

Trina Scott
Chief Diversity Officer 
Quicken Loans

Ulysses Smith 
Diversity, Inclusion & Belonging Leader

Lorraine Stewart 
Senior Vice President, Mortgage Lending
BECU - Boeing Employees' Credit Union

Steve Theobald 
Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer
Walker Dunlop

Tony Thompson
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Minority Mortgage Bankers of America (NAMMBA)

Richard Thornberry
Chief Executive Officer 
Radian Guaranty, Inc.

Brian White 
Senior Vice President, Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer 
HomeBridge Financial Services, Inc. 

Winston Wilkinson
EVP, President of Mortgage Banking
Pentagon Federal Credit Union