Notice of MBA Elections, MBA Annual Meeting

MBA Staff

September 13, 2018

The Mortgage Bankers Association's Annual Meeting will take place Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018 at 500 p.m. ET at the MBA Annual Convention & Expo in Washington, D.C.

On Monday, Sept. 17, 2018, all Regular MBA Members will shortly receive an email ballot for the approval of the slate of Officers and At-Large Directors. The authorized representatives of Regular Members on the books of MBA as of September 10, 2018 will receive ballots shortly thereafter.

Under MBA bylaws, 2.5% of the Regular Members are required to vote for the election to be effective.  Your vote matters.

The ballot will be open for one week, and will also be accessible on mobile devices. The email containing the ballot link will contain a randomly generated password for access to the ballot.

The MBA Annual Opening Ceremony will kick off the Annual Convention on Sunday, October 14, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. ET in the Ballroom of the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. At this session, the Officers and Directors will be sworn in.

The 2018 Chair of the Nominating Committee was Immediate Past Chairman Rodrigo López, CMB, Chairman of AmeriSphere Companies. The full committee list can be found at

The Committee's nominees for 2019 are:

--For MBA Chairman, Christopher M. George, Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer of CMG Financial;

--For Chairman-Elect, Brian F. Stoffers, CMB, Global President or Debt and Structured Finance of CBRE Capital Markets; and

--For Vice Chairman, Susan T. Stewart, Chief Executive Officer of SWBC Mortgage.

The slate of At-Large Directors consists of:

--Bryon Boston, President, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Chief Investment Officer of Dynex Capital Inc.;

--Todd Chamberlain, Executive Vice President and Head of Mortgage Division with Suntrust Mortgage Inc.;

--Michael DeVito, Executive Vice President and Head of Home Lending with Wells Fargo Home Mortgage;

--William Emerson, Vice Chairman of Quicken Loans and Rock Holdings Inc.;

--Mark Jones, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of AmeriFirst Home Mortgage;

--Angela Mago, Executive Vice President of KeyBank Real Estate Capital;

--Michael May, Executive Managing Director, Head of Production-Conventional with Berkeley Point Capital LLC;

--Peter Norden, Chief Executive Officer of HomeBridge Financial Service Inc.;

--Julie Piepho, CMB, President of National Operations with Cornerstone Home Lending;

--Jay Plum, Executive Vice President of The Huntington National Bank;

--Jeffrey Taylor, Co-Founder and Managing Director of Digital Risk LLC.

Returning members of the Board of Directors along with the representatives of the Commercial/Multifamily Board of Governors ("COMBOG") and the Residential Board of Governors ("RESBOG") can be found at

In addition to the At-Large Directors and the Immediate Past Chairman serving on the Board, the MBA Bylaws call for each Board of Governors to select four of its members to serve on the Board. Board members serve staggered two-year terms except for the Officers and leadership of the COMBOG, the latter of whom each serve one three-year term, corresponding to their term of service on the COMBOG ladder. Robert Broeksmit, CMB, MBA President and Chief Executive Officer, serves on the Board as ex officio, a non-voting member.

Share this article