MBA Announces Governors and Committee Chairs for 2023

October 23, 2022 Press Release Residential & Commercial / Multifamily


Adam DeSanctis

(202) 557-2727

Share to

The Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) today announced the members of its Residential Board of Governors (RESBOG), members of its Commercial Real Estate/Multifamily Finance Board of Governors (COMBOG), and the chairs of its residential committees for 2023. 

“The members who sit on RESBOG and COMBOG represent a wide variety of industry experts, and they have a tremendous amount of experiences and perspectives that embody the entire real estate finance industry,” said Matt Rocco, 2023 MBA Chairman, and Chair of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Grandbridge Real Estate Capital. “I look forward to working with all members of RESBOG and COMBOG in as we address the economic, regulatory, and legislative issues and opportunities that will impact our industry in 2023.”

RESBOG is the governing body for MBA's single-family residential members, responsible for establishing legislative and regulatory policies and positions on residential lending issues. Chrissi Rhea, Mortgage Investors Group, will serve as RESBOG Chair in 2023. Gene Lugat, PrimeLending will serve as RESBOG Vice Chair.

MBA named the following newly elected members of RESBOG:

  • Mike Dunlap, Merchants Bank of Indiana
  • Chris Curran, Essent Guaranty
  • Susanne Livingston, RWM Home Loans
  • Anita Padilla, MegaStar Financial
  • David Townsend, Agents National Title Insurance
  • James Sias, Huntington National Bank

MBA’s returning members of RESBOG are:

  • Danette Alfonso, Eagle Home Mortgage LLC
  • Lisa Applegate, Wells Fargo
  • Patty Arvielo, New American Funding
  • Bill Banfield, Rocket Mortgage
  • David Battany, Guild Mortgage Company
  • Albert P. Blank, Union Home Mortgage (Immediate Past Chair)
  • Christopher Delfs, Truist
  • Duane Duncan, Enact Mortgage Insurance
  • Laura Escobar, Lennar Mortgage
  • Tim Frederick, CMB, M&T Bank
  • Eric Gates, Apex Home Loans
  • Erik Hand, HomeStreet Bank
  • John Hedlund, AmeriHome
  • John Hummel, U.S. Bank Home Mortgage
  • Mark Jones, Amerifirst Home Mortgage
  • Tawn Kelley, Taylor Morrison Home Funding
  • William Lowman, American Pacific Mortgage Corporation
  • Sonya Luechauer, DHI Mortgage
  • Gene Lugat, Primelending (Vice Chair)
  • Allen Maulsby, CMB, Colonial Savings, F.A.
  • Glen Messina, Ocwen Financial Corporation
  • Sonu Mittal, Citizens Bank
  • Willie Newman, Home Point Financial
  • Kurt Pfotenhauer, First American Title Insurance Company
  • Aaron Pitone, Arvest Bank
  • Steven Plaisance, Gateway First
  • Jay Plum, Fifth Third
  • Chrissi Rhea, Mortgage Investor Group (Chair)
  • Matt Rocco, Grandbridge Real Estate Capital
  • Lee Smith, Flagstar
  • Jack Thompson, Legacy Mortgage
  • Winston Wilkinson, Pentagon Federal Credit Union
  • Fowler Williams, CMB, AMP, Crescent Mortgage Company

MBA also announced the Residential Committee Chairs who serve as non-voting members of RESBOG:

  • Steve Bovenzi, Caliber Home Loans: Residential Technology Forum (RESTECH) Committee
  • Pam Cooper, CMB, Citywide Home Loans: Accounting and Financial Management Committee
  • Mallory Garner, PennyMac: Legal Issues and Regulatory Compliance Committee
  • Tara Healy, CMB, CML, Cherry Creek: State Legislative and Regulatory Committee
  • Deb Jones, CMB, Citizens Bank, Secondary and Capital Markets Committee
  • Tom Land, AMP, Chase: Loan Administration Committee
  • Rachel Robinson, Rocket Mortgage: Residential Loan Production Committee

COMBOG is comprised of MBA member executives representing all aspects of the commercial/ multifamily real estate finance industry. COMBOG leads the strategic development of MBA’s commercial/multifamily policy and initiatives, as well as best practices and standards. Christine Chandler, M&T Realty Capital Corporation, will serve as COMBOG Chair in 2023. Jeff Majewski, CBRE Capital Markets will serve as COMBOG Vice Chair.

MBA named the following newly elected members of COMBOG:     

  • Michael Dury, Merchants Capital
  • Quentin Fogan, Bank of America
  • Adam Fox, Fitch Ratings
  • Bonnie Hochman Rothell, Morris, Manning & Martin, LLP
  • Stephen Johnson, Freddie Mac Multifamily
  • Crystal N. Kalinowski, CCMS, District Capital
  • Rob Levin, Fannie Mae
  • Nipul Patel, Wells Fargo Corporate & Investment Banking
  • Cooper Williams, Essex Financial Group
  • Paul Wolters, NLG Capital – National Life Group
  • Bob Wright, CCMS, SS&C Technologies

Continuing members of COMBOG:

  • Stacy Ackermann, K&L Gates, LLP
  • Victor Calanog, Ph.D., CRE, FRICS, Moody’s Analytics CRE |REIS, Inc
  • Amy Frazey, CPA, StanCorp Mortgage Investors LLC
  • Jeff Friedman, Mesa West Capital, LLC
  • Jack Gay, Nuveen Real Estate
  • Gregg Gerken, TD Bank N.A.
  • Jonathan Goldman, M. Robert Goldman & Company, Inc
  • Brian Hanson, CWCapital Asset Management, LLC
  • Katie Hubbard, CFA, State Farm Life Insurance Company
  • Steven R. Johnson, Principal Real Estate Investors
  • Angela Mago, Key Commercial Bank & Real Estate Capital, KeyCorp
  • John Maher, Hartford Investment Management Company
  • Patrick Mattson, KKR Real Estate Finance Trust, Inc
  • Greg Michaud, Voya Investment Management
  • Dilip Petigara, Latitude Hospitality, Inc
  • Smriti Popenoe, CFA, Dynex Capital, Inc
  • Hilary Provinse, Berkadia
  • Mark Reichter, Q10 | Triad Capital Advisors, Inc
  • Wally Reid, JLL Capital Markets
  • Deborah Rogan, Bellwether Enterprise Real Estate Capital LLC
  • Robert Slatt, Gantry, Inc
  • Mike Tanner, Pacific Southwest Realty Services
  • Stephanie Wiggins, PGIM Real Estate

Reinstated COMBOG members:

  • Christine Chandler, M&T Realty Capital Corporation (Chair)
  • Jeffrey Majewski, CBRE Capital Markets (Vice Chair)